Skip to main content

When most of us hear the word ‘element’ the typical elements, Earth, Wind, Fire, and Water likely come to mind. But did you know that there are shadow elements as well?

First, let’s be clear on what shadows are. Our shadow self is the dark side of us that we typically work to keep concealed. Oftentimes, we fear these aspects of our personality, because we have been taught they are bad. In reality, healthy growth involves accepting your darkness and your shadows and integrating these traits into your authentic persona in a healthy manner.

Now, don’t get me wrong- I am NOT saying to be a blatant sociopath or to go around inciting drama everywhere you are, because these are aspects of your shadow self. That wouldn’t be healthy, now would it?

Shadow elements are much like our shadow selves, they are our dominant shadow characteristics, and everyone has them. If you don’t believe you do, then you are still not living your life authentically, or being true to yourself.

With that being said, the shadow elements are darkness, chaos, oblivion, and void.

Each of these elements coincides with a particular set of zodiac signs, much like the regular elements. For example, the element of Wind or Air governs Libra, Gemini, and Aquarius, and so does the shadow element oblivion.

Here is what that means for your zodiac sign.

1. Darkness

Aries, Leo, Sagittarius

The element of Fire governs these elements and the shadow element is darkness. While the fire within these signs can brighten those around them, their shadow side is the darkness. Darkness can be scary because it is the fear of the unknown, the fear of losing one’s spark, and the fear of death. During a dark night of the soul, these signs tend to withdraw and pull inward. They may feel stuck, as though they have unfulfilled potential, and because of this, there is a tendency to slip into the darkness. Without darkness, there is no light though, and once these signs embrace the darkness, they can thrive in both places.

2. Chaos

Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn

The element of Earth governs these signs, and when they are balanced, they can ground others. They tend to be practical and are masters of their own universe. However, conversely, their shadow side is chaos. When they are unbalanced, these signs tend to go off the deep end. They may feel like they have lost sight of everything they once considered to be normal, and in many ways, they can become trapped in what feels like a never-ending cycle of chaos. When chaos is embraced and accepted by these signs as a normal part of life, they can move forward and accomplish anything.

3. Oblivion

Gemini, Libra, Aquarius

The element of Air governs these signs, and when they are balanced, they are intellectual, revolutionary, and insightful. However, conversely, when they fall off balance, they can get lost in an oblivion of their own making. Their oblivion is rooted in a fear of a loss of control. But, when they accept oblivion as a natural part of their existence, they can see that oblivion can be necessary to push them past their comfort zones and show them what they are truly capable of.

4. Void

Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces

The element of Water governs these signs, and when they are balanced, they are deeply attuned with themselves and the world around them. Conversely, when unbalanced and when they allow their fears to rule over them, they can wander into the void. A void is much like an empty shell. And while it can be scary to get lost in the void, sometimes it is necessary to bring balance, especially for highly empathetic signs. Striving for a balance between empathy and allowing yourself to simply exist in the void now and then can be extremely beneficial.